The conference offers a limited number of scholarships based on financial need. The number of scholarships offered is contingent upon limited, variable funding, and scholarships cannot be offered to all qualified applicants. A limited number of scholarships will be awarded per school/organization.

Scholarship awards will cover partial registration fees only. Travel and lodging costs are the responsibility of the attendee.

Applications are no longer being accepted for 2016. 

National Service-Learning Awards

NYLC and its partners present a number of awards honoring youth and adults for their commitment to education, service, community, and service-learning. Nominate an outstanding leader today!

Applications are no longer being accepted for 2016. 

Service-Learning Practitioner Leadership Award

The Service-Learning Practitioner Leadership Award recognizes those who have equipped young people to lead and serve, both through their direct work with youth and by nurturing other practitioners. Nominations are accepted from the general public, and a committee of leaders from the service-learning field will select the winners.

Youth Leadership For Service-Learning Excellence Award

The Youth Leadership for Service-Learning Excellence Award recognizes service-learning programs and projects that demonstrate outstanding youth leadership. This award focuses on projects that show a high level of youth initiative in all areas including identifying an authentic need, planning the service, and putting that plan into action. Teams of young people participating in service-learning projects can apply.

Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award

NYLC's Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award honors exemplary leaders who, by example, have inspired the service-learning field, have had a positive impact on the lives of young people, and have motivated others to take up the banner of service. This award is named for British humanitarian Alec Dickson (1914-94), whose vision, innovation, and commitment has inspired so many individuals to lead lives dedicated to service. His legacy continues to influence young people, teachers, agencies, schools, and communities.

G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Leadership Award

This award honors individuals who, by example, have played a leadership role in urban schools, communities, and the lives of young people. Bernard Gill, a beloved NYLC staff member, was a pioneering leader in the urban service-learning movement. He organized the first and successive National Urban Service-Learning Institutes and was passionate about the engagement of African-American males and the impact service-learning could make on their lives.

The Evan Dalgaard Leadership Award

This award recognizes a young person who exemplifies leadership, social justice, and a love for life; all of which Evan Dalgaard stood for. Since 2008, the National Youth Leadership Council has honored the memory of Evan Dalgaard by bestowing this award to a dedicated young champion of service.